Sonnet #12 – Misquote Descarte: a meditation on suffering as the fulfillment of the sufferings of Christ

I stand before the Lord in taut appeal
in quiv’ring cry of need, in shaking moans
and He who hears my cry must feel my bones
which resonate the pitch of my ordeal

The dissonance of life displayed in groans
distracts the ears of heaven, calls the heart
of Him Who juggles earth and sky with art
of love and song and harmonious tones

Could this sad wail, this dirge, to God impart
a memory of crown and whip and nail?
the way of roses stumbled ‘cross the town?
Does He who walked it make my walk renowned?
Silence my fears and make them read like Braille
“I hurt therefore I am,” misquote Descarte

I employed a unique rhyme scheme for this sonnet. Each second rhyme of the previous section becomes the first rhyme framing the next section. As though to say that we carry forward our experiences and they frame our lives. Funnily, as the rhyme scheme is notated below, the word “deed” sits in the middle of the last 6 lines of the sonnet.

Rhyme scheme: abba bccb cdeedc

Description of Language: In the first section suffering is viewed as a tuning fork resonating a pitch within our bones that God hears. The “way of roses” in the third section is a reference to the Via de la Rosa, the path Christ walked with the Cross. “silence my fears and make them read like Braille” is a reference to the lessons of suffering not being seen but rather felt, therefore the ending misquoting Descarte’s famous “I think, therefore I am” seemed appropriate.

Leave a Reply

